Media Statement: Infrastructure Australia Board announced

Publication Date
01 September 2014

Appointments by the Australian Government to the new Infrastructure Australia Board have been announced, as the expert advisory body transitions today to a new independent statutory authority.

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development Warren Truss said the change in the Infrastructure Australia governance structure would help create a stronger, more independent organisation to better serve the nation's needs.

“I am pleased to announce that Mr Mark Birrell will be the Chair of the new board, bringing his extensive experience, strategic infrastructure planning expertise and strong leadership to his new role,” Mr Truss said.

“Mr Birrell has been a part of Infrastructure Australia since 2008 and will give the authority continuity and stability going forward.”

Members appointed to the board are:

  • Mr Mark Birrell (Chair)
  • Ms Julieanne Alroe
  • Mr Gerard Blood
  • Mr Michael Carapiet
  • Mr Peter Corish
  • Dr Colin Duffield
  • Ms Nicole Lockwood
  • Dr Daniel Norton
  • Dr Kerry Schott, and
  • Mr Peter Watson

Mr Truss said the new board, in its more strategic role, would help the Australian Government to remain focused on delivering critical infrastructure, ensuring value-for-money and maximum productivity when building the infrastructure of the 21st century.

Infrastructure Australia has already been tasked to prepare a 15 year forward plan for Australia's infrastructure needs.

“A more robust and transparent Infrastructure Australia with respected and experienced appointees is a key part of our plan to build a strong and prosperous economy,” he said.

“Dr Kerry Schott and Ms Nicole Lockwood were both members of the Infrastructure Australia council previous to this appointment and I would like to acknowledge their prior contributions, as well as that of other council members.”