The Board

The Infrastructure Australia Board is charged with deciding the objectives, strategies and policies of the organisation. The Board is the accountable authority of Infrastructure Australia and oversees the proper, efficient and effective performance of the organisation’s functions.


Mark Balnaves

Board Member

Mark Balnaves has more than 25 years of director, strategic advisory and infrastructure experience. Mark is experienced in a wide range of projects having advised on major property and infrastructure projects around Australia for Government, Universities and private investors.

Mark has significant director experience, including as the independent chairman of Celsus (which designed, financed, constructed and now manages and maintains the Royal Adelaide Hospital PPP), Aged Care & Housing Group Inc and 12 years as chairman of the National Wine Centre of Australia. Mark also acts as independent advisory board chairman of a number of private businesses and has extensive merger and acquisition experience across a wide range of industries.

Mark holds degrees in Economics and Law and a Masters in Finance from London Business School.

Mr Balnaves is Chair of the Plan Sub-Committee..


John Fitzgerald

Board Member

John has extensive experience in infrastructure policy and delivery, public transport and urban renewal. He is Chair of the ACT’s Suburban Land Agency and Infranexus Management Pty Ltd (an IFM Investors subsidiary). Previous Board positions include Chair of Evolution Rail Pty Ltd, the Canberra Light Rail Project Board and NSW Government’s Convention and Exhibition Centre project, Director Barangaroo Delivery Authority, Port of Melbourne Corporation, Infrastructure Partnerships Australia and the Victorian Funds Management Corporation. 

From 2011 until 2016 he was a Specialist Advisor to KPMG and Interim CEO of Infrastructure Australia. Prior to KPMG, John was Deputy Secretary at the Victorian Treasury. John chaired the Infrastructure Working Group of COAG which created Infrastructure Australia’s National PPP Policy. Before joining DTF in 2000, John worked in banking. John holds a Master of Public Infrastructure (Research) (Hons) from the University of Melbourne and is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and the Institute of Public Administration Australia (Victoria). 

John is Chair of Infrastructure Australia’s Audit, Risk & Compliance Committee.


Marion Fulker AM

Board Member

Marion Fulker AM is recognised as a leading expert in the future development of cities. She is the CEO of think tank organisation the Committee for Perth, Chair of Perth Zoo and an Adjunct Associate Professor at The University of Western Australia. Marion holds an MBA from Curtin Graduate Business School and an MSc in Cities from London School of Economics and Politics.

In her role at the Committee for Perth, Marion has overseen the development of more than 150 research bulletins and reports with a focus on transport and congestion; gender diversity; governance; economic prosperity; city brand and reputation; and the future of work. Over the past 15 years, Marion has researched more than 30 cities in the developed world to better understand cities, large and small, including their economies; infrastructure; governance; and culture.

Recognition of Marion’s accomplishments include an Order of Australia in 2021 for her significant service to urban planning and infrastructure development.


Dr Vanessa Guthrie AO

Board Member

Dr Guthrie has formal qualifications in Science with a PhD in geology and holds a Graduate Diploma in Natural Resources. She holds a Diploma in Commercial and Resources law and also Business management.

Dr Guthrie has knowledge and experience of the private sector, transport, mining and energy and communications sectors. 

Dr Guthrie is currently Non-Executive Director, Santos Ltd; Non-Executive Director, Tronox Holdings plc, Lead Independent Director and Deputy Chair, Adbri Limited; Non-Executive Director, Lynas Rare Earths Ltd; Pro Chancellor, Curtin University; Director, Cricket Australia; Board Member, Australia-India Council; Member, Skills Expert Panel.

Dr Guthrie was formally Director, Australian Broadcasting Corporation; Deputy Chair, Western Australian Cricket Association; Chairman of the Board, Minerals Council of Australia; Former CEO of Toro Energy; Non-Executive Director, Vimy Resources Ltd; Non-Executive Director, WA Water Corporation; Non-Executive Director, Reed Resources Ltd and Non-Executive Director, Nova Energy Ltd.


John McGee

John McGee

Board Member

Mr McGee has over thirty years’ experience in the Australia and global capital markets and associated corporate sector. He has extensive experience across banking and finance, insurance, health and hospitals, aviation and air safety. In his executive roles Mr McGee was Managing Director of BNY Mellon Australia Pty Ltd for nine years, heading up the Bank of New York's corporate trust operation in Australia. He has also been a director of many subsidiaries and held responsible manager status on various ASIC and APRA licences. He was also Head of Funds Management, and later Chief Financial Officer, of a listed life insurer.

Mr McGee is currently a member of the Climate Change Authority and a director of the NSW Government’s Sydney Local Health District, the entity responsible for Royal Prince Alfred, Concord, Canterbury and Balmain Hospitals.  

His previous non-executive director roles include Deputy Chair of the Private Health Insurance Administrative Council (PHIAC), the regulator of all private health insurers, Air Services Australia, Westpac Funds Management and Delhi Petroleum.

Mr McGee holds formal qualifications in Economics and Law from Sydney University.


Robert Moffat

Board Member

Robert Moffat has more than 30 years of experience in engineering and strategic planning across diverse industries, geographies and cultures. His extensive management and leadership skills have been deployed across the full life cycle of the transport sector from concept, funding, construction, day of operations, maintenance through to cessation.

He is currently CEO and Executive Director of the Australasian Centre for Rail Innovation and vice-chair of the International Railway Research Board. Key focus areas include the evolution of research that improves the safety, productivity and competitiveness of the growing transport mobility sector.

Rob is a Fellow of Engineers Australia and holds a Bachelor of Electronic & Electrical Engineering with Honours from the University of Edinburgh in Scotland.


Graham Quirk

Board Member

During thirty four years in public life including eight years as Lord Mayor of the City of Brisbane, Graham Quirk spent many years responsible for the day to day delivery of major infrastructure projects including the Clem 7 Tunnel, the Go Between Bridge, the Eleanor Schonell Bridge and the Legacy Way Tunnel. As Lord Mayor, Graham oversaw the development of the business case for the Brisbane Metro, before resigning as Lord Mayor in April 2019 to pursue other interests.

Graham is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and serves on the Board of Racing Queensland, Lockyer Valley/ Somerset Water Collaborative and provides strategic advice to Grace Education and HSW Nominees Pty Ltd.

As Chairman of the Council of Mayors (South East Queensland), Graham Quirk oversaw the agreement to create Australia’s largest City Deal. In that role he also commenced the Olympic and Paralympic Games proposal for 2032 in 2015 overseeing the Prefeasibility and Full Feasibility studies.

Related documents